Gardening as religion

Standard

I don’t normally garden…ever. I don’t like the feeling of dry dirt on my hands and under my nails, I don’t like not being able to wipe my face because I’ve got nothing clean with which to do it, I don’t like blisters, I really just don’t like much about it at all. That being said, I spent a good three hours yesterday tilling up the backyard soil in preparation for fall planting next weekend and I managed to uncover what used to be a vegetable garden (complete with nine separate plots!) so I should be able to start some onions too.

It was super-weird, this crazy drive to start this project and then I read today over at Feminism and Religion that yesterday was the Fall Equinox. I don’t usually believe in the turning of the earth regulating people’s moods, activities and behaviors, but yesterday was so out of character for me I wonder if there might be something to that whole idea after all.

Anyhow, I give you the Feminism and Religion article, as well as a few more, for the Sunday Roundup:

To Garden

  • Kathryn House reflects on gardening through the lenses of community, justice, faith and hope;
  • Having her own garden reminds her to be careful what she uses to tend it knowing that whatever is in the garden ends up on her table and in her body, but it also reminds her to pay attention when she shops for food – making choices based on what will have the most positive impact on her, the farm workers and the earth;
  • “Gardening is a radical act of faith and hope. It is where I, who often doubt, who can be so anxious for results, have learned to trust that when conditions are right, things will grow.”

In defense of “social-service” programs

I was Raised by Welfare: A Defense of Social Safety Programs

  • An opinion piece on why Welfare is an absolutely invaluable program for those that need it;
  • Bertha Alvarez Manninen counteracts the idea that folks using government assistance are lazy, rather the jobs that some folks can find don’t pay enough to raise them or their families above the poverty threshold;
  • “I am in favor of a strong social safety net not because I don’t want people to work or because I prize laziness. But because I know, from firsthand experience, that in many respects hard work just isn’t enough.”

A different look at the perilous life of a political make-up artist during an election year.

Mitt’s Bronze: Political Makeup Artists and the Perils of their Craft

  • A number of political makeup artists are interviewed, each bemoaning their job during an election year;
  • Artists must walk the fine line of making their subjects look good while also making them look natural;
  • “If they have a booger, that’s your job and trust me, you have to deal with it,” said Michele Probst, who traveled with Obama during the 2008 campaign. “These are the things you have to think about. It takes a lot of work to look natural when you’re under the eyeballs of the world.”

And a graphic for the road:

Thanks Ryan…

One response »

Leave a Reply

