Life wide open

Standard

I’m going off the grid for a few days in just under an hour. It’s not that I don’t love you all, it’s that I’m headed to Camp Out for the Virginia Women’s Music Festival that happens every Memorial Day. And it’s not that I don’t get cell service, it’s that this is the one weekend a year that I have absolutely no trouble engaging in what’s happening in the moment, without a worry about who said what on Facebook.

Camp Out is my second home, it doesn’t matter that I go only twice a year or so, I’ve got family there. The place and the people fixed me when I was broken and showed me what it means to live in community. When I first showed up in 2006 I was a single lesbian for the first time in my life and had no idea what that meant. Camp, and all the folks that come each year, took me under its wing and showed me that I could basically be whoever I wanted to be – even if that continued to change.

I was barely a sophomore in college my first year there – it’s the place I would meet Marianne, gain some confidence, laugh a whole heck of a lot and just.grow.up. I was in ROTC when I started, three years later I was out of the military and on my own and now I’m an LGBTQ activist. I was living in Ohio my first year, now I’ve been in NC for three years and am fixin’ to move again, this time so Marianne can chase her dream. I had this super-narrow definition of what “lesbian” looked like and Camp helped me expand that. With a little guidance and a whole lot of love, camp grew me up.

So, as I said, I’m going off the grid for a few days. I love you all, but will see you when I get back on Monday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The shortest fight in the history of the world « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

  2. Pingback: 10/11/12 – Happy National Coming Out Day! « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

Leave a Reply

