Plans to give you hope

Standard

To all of you who voted for this hateful amendment… Read the sign and understand. My family is my family and you can’t change that.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

It seems odd, right now, that I ought to be quoting anything from the Bible (Jeremiah 29:11 specifically), especially because it was the hardcore Bible-belivin’ Christians that helped NC enshrine discrimination into our constitution earlier tonight.

But it makes sense when I say that I actually saw this quote this afternoon, on the back of a bathroom door at the Green Bean coffee shop. I tried to use it in my earlier post but it didn’t quite fit, now it seems to make perfect sense.

I’m angry. I’m hurt. And this would usually be the time I pack it all in and run away. To another state that will recognize Marianne’s and my relationship. To a place that doesn’t prize the sanctity of marriage over the sanctity of a DV victim’s safety. To anywhere but North Carolina.

But I can’t. And moreover, for once, I don’t really want to. Throughout this campaign I have made more friends and allies than I had ever thought existed. I found that folks in California and other states cared enough what happened to us to make phone calls to N.C. voters on behalf of our cause. I learned that I have a voice…and I learned when to use it. (I think) I learned I want to be a community organizer.

I have no idea what comes next. But I do know God uses all things for good. It’s like my friend Ash Mo told me tonight:

On the bright side…I have been feeling the hand of something bigger tonight. That something bigger is the huge communal canopy that Green Streeters have over over our heads and hearts today. We are unlucky to have lost, but I feel so blessed that we fought alongside so many visible and invisible friends.

Me too Ash Mo, me too.

5 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry. Really. But let’s not give up. If we look at other discrimination based issues, they take a lot of time and perseverance. Things are starting to change. It’s just a slow process. I really believe that. Thanks for all your work! And for all you’ve yet to do!

  2. Pingback: “We are…not…alone « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

  3. Pingback: You’ve got options people! « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

Leave a Reply

