Opposites Attract

Standard

Finding a path though the randomness

That’s been the world I’ve been living in lately.

I hang out in a super-inclusive church and yet the church got its first piece of hate mail the other day.

I put a “Vote Against Amendment One” sign in my front yard and the one I put in my neighbor’s yard gets stolen.

I spend my days quantifying the number of employees at a certain company’s office or the total millions (sometimes billions) of dollars of revenue a company makes in a year and I spend my nights with folks who may never know what $50,000  a year looks like but are super-active in their (mine, our) community.

I’m marrying the love of my life in both a church and a state that doesn’t legally what I am doing.

It is what it it is. I just think that sometimes God presents both sides so I can learn to never become too comfortable.

Or so that I can learn to be grateful for what I have.

I sometimes forget that not everywhere is Green Street.

I sometimes overlook the reality that people dislike a political position so much that they will take something that doesn’t belong to them just to prove a point.

I sometimes allow myself to believe that no one is in it for the money and people do what’s right just because it’s right and then a certain Winston-Salem company starts laying off employees after they’ve had one of their best fourth quarters in recent memory.

Sometimes Mary Sunshine needs a dose of reality.

But I am thankful that I have the ability to be Mary Sunshine. Although I sometimes “jump up and down” on Marianne’s “last gay nerve” because of my optimism, I like to think the world needs people like me.

At least I hope so.

One response »

Leave a Reply

