Grace and more grace

Standard

The Greensboro Cruisers before the annual Polar Bear motorcycle ride on January 1.

Lately I’ve been feeling small. I get this way around holidays, where everything is happening at race speed and I don’t have time to soak it in. I’m just running, running, running to catch up to, or stay next to, my life.

And then things happen which I can only describe as God’s grace.

Things that pull me out of myself and remind me that I am not alone and that I don’t have to take on the world by myself.

Case in point: the motley bunch above. These are folks I ride my motorcycle with and this was our annual Polar Bear Ride yesterday. I was all ready to go, my bike battery had been sitting on it’s charger, I had my warmest gear on, I hit the starter and… nothing. I hit the starter again and still nothing. I try one more time and I hear it… the awful awful clicking sound of a dead battery.

And there’s nothing I can do. (FYI I hate this sound worse than nails on a chalkboard).

Sadly, sullenly and disappointedly I rush (because at this point I’m running way behind) to at least meet these folks for breakfast. I throw all my bike gear in the back of my Subaru and make it to the diner more or less on time.

Everyone was glad to see me and politely let me whine and bitch about my bike. As soon as I finish, Jay (the guy sitting directly in front of me) says:

Do you have your helmet? I just bought a new bike as a Christmas present to myself and you could be my passenger. Besides you don’t want to miss the ride.

So I become a passenger for the day and it was awesome! One of the other guys later gave me advice on how (and where) to get a new battery, on a Sunday and a holiday, and that worked so well I ended up on my own polar bear ride with Marianne later in the evening.

Back to the whole grace thing. Some folks would call it coincidence or people just being nice, but things like this happen far to often for me to chalk it up to randomness.

The thing I love is that these moments never happen in big ways. It’s incidences like yesterday, or the fact that I am losing my mind over how to make this blog more reader-friendly and attract more folks to it and suddenly I’ve got a facebook friend writing articles for the local paper on how to do just that.

It’s cool because I recognize it at the time, but then I also get to sit back and reflect a day or two later and it’s still just as awesome.

As we say at Green Street:

God is good! All the time!

All the time, God is good!

Leave a Reply

