Why a blog and what’s with the title?

Standard

Welcome, welcome!

First, I should say that I am getting married at the end of October and am already freaking out…for various number of reasons. If you come by this blog without knowing much about me, here goes:

  • I intend to marry my best friend in just 11 months;
  • Neither the Methodist Church (to which we belong) or the state of North Carolina (where we live) will validate my wedding;
  • I know nothing about how to plan a wedding; and
  • I know even less about planning a wedding involving two women.

Good grief.

I titled the blog “Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics” to both pay homage to John Denver, one of my all-time favorite artists and as a reminder that life is not always rainbows and kittens although I would like it to be. The chorus of his song:

Talk of poems and prayers and promises
And things that we believe in
How sweet it is to love someone
How right it is to care

makes life sound so simple and it should be. But then there’s the politics of it all. I’m hoping to explore both sides of the equation during the next 11 months.

As a reader, I invite you to join me on my journey. I’m a journalist by trade, so if there’s something you’d like to know more about, let me know and I will include an entry on it. For now, suffice it to say these next few months will be both joyful and sad; exciting and maddening; grace-filled and lonely.

This should be fun!

2 responses »

  1. Katie, I would be happy to help you. Give me a call and I will be happy to share tips on who does same sex marriages.

  2. Pingback: Coming full circle « Poems, Prayers, Promises & Politics

Leave a Reply

